New California Gun Law Forces Owners to Sell High-Capacity Magazines Out-of-State
On November 8, 2016, California voters approved Proposition 63, which further restricts California’s gun laws.
If you live in California, via Proposition 63, you must now pass a background check before you are able to purchase ammunition. Individuals and businesses must obtain a one-year license from the California Department of Justice to sell ammunition. Proposition 63 enforces this by establishing a misdemeanor penalty for failing to follow these dealer licensing requirements.
California residents are prohibited from purchasing ammunition outside the state and then bringing it into the state without first having it delivered to a licensed dealer. Under Proposition 63, this will start on January 2018. Bringing out-of-state ammunition into California without first delivering to a dealer is an infraction.
In 2000, California banned large-capacity magazines for most individuals. However, individuals who already had large-capacity magazines before 2000 were allowed to keep the magazines. Proposition 63 removes the ownership exemption for pre-2000 owners of large-capacity magazines. In California, all large-capacity magazines are now banned and you must dispose of them. The good news is your can sell your California banned magazines and clips to us
Proposition 63 enacted a court process that attempts to ensure prohibited individuals do not continue to have firearms. Proposition 63 also requires probation officers to check and report on what prohibited individuals did with their firearms. With these in place, it speeds up the seizure of firearms from individuals who are no longer allowed to own them.
Under Proposition 63, reporting theft must be done within a time frame. Dealers of ammunition are required to report a theft or loss within 48 hours. Individuals must report a theft or loss within five days. Failure to do so will result in an infraction. Under Proposition 63, stealing a gun, including one valued at less than $950, is now a felony punishable by up to three years in prison.
If you’re looking to sell your firearm because of the new laws, you can’t go wrong with doing business with CashMyGuns. We offer the fastest, safest, and most discrete way for you to sell your firearms. How do we get started? Send us an email at firstname.lastname@example.org, or give us a call at 775-432-6006. We will be happy to assist you in selling your firearm, and we do all the hard work that usually takes time and money for you to sell a gun yourself. We work as a licensed FFL by the Federal Government to oversee the buying and selling of firearms from the public and give you an opportunity to sell an unwanted firearm safely, easily and legally.