How to Sell a Gun in Colorado
Selling a gun in Colorado requires knowledge of the state’s laws to ensure gun owners are in compliance and don’t make any mistakes. The state of Colorado has various laws concerning the ownership, transfer, and the carrying of firearms. If you’re considering selling a gun to another individual, make sure you’re up to speed with the laws that regulate transfers to ensure you’re in compliance and not breaking any laws.
The following information is from the Colorado Bureau of Investigation.
Selling to a Federal Firearms License (FFL) is much easier but if you want to sell to a private party you’ll want to be informed.
Colorado gun owners who are selling to a non-immediate family member must conduct a background check through a Federal Firearm Licensee. However, immediate family members do not need background checks done to transfer firearms between one another. Immediate family is defined as spouses, parents, children, siblings, grandparents, grandchildren, nieces, nephews, first cousins, aunts, and uncles (in-laws do not apply). The firearm sold should not be transferred to any family member who is prohibited from purchasing and/or possessing firearm (CRS 18-12-112)
A person who violates a provision of this section commits a class 1 misdemeanor and shall also be prohibited from possessing a firearm for two years per state law. C.R.S. 18-12-112 (9)(a)
Colorado State Firearm Ownership Prohibitors
The following disqualifies a person in Colorado from purchasing a firearm.
- R.S. 18-12-108(3) and (4)(c) – Has Been Adjudicated Delinquent for a crime, which if committed as an adult, would be a felony.
- R.S. 18-3-204-Third Degree Assault- victim was LEO, Emergency Responder, Mental Health Provider in the performance of their duties. Pursuant to sentencing guidelines, an individual could receive a misdemeanor sentence of 24-48 months, thereby disqualifying a person per 18 U.S.C. §922 (g) (1).
In Colorado there are both state and federal disqualifications that will prevent buyer from purchasing a gun.
FEDERAL DISQUALIFICATION CATEGORIES
- Conviction (felony or misdemeanor) where the crime has a maximum imprisonment term exceeding 1 year (even if a buyer did not receive actual imprisonment exceeding 1 year).
- Warrant (felony or out-of-state misdemeanor).
- Felony pre-trial release.
- Misdemeanor crimes of domestic violence restraining/stalking/protection order mental health adjudication or commitment.
- Unlawful use or addicted to a controlled substance (including marijuana).
- Dishonorable discharge from the armed forces.
- Renounced U.S. citizenship.
- Illegal alien.
Save the Hassle, Sell your Gun to CashMyGun.com
If the hassle of navigating Colorado’s gun laws seems overwhelming, we’re excited to tell you that there’s a better way!
You can safely, easily and legally sell your handgun or long gun to CashMyGuns.com and be 100% compliant with Colorado gun laws.
We have a Federal Firearms Licensee, who is licensed by the U.S. Government to help people with selling and transferring of firearms. We take care of the hard part and make the process safe, quick and hassle-free. The reality is, you can sell your gun without leaving the house.
Just tell us which gun(s) you’d like to sell, we’ll make you an offer, and once we agree on a price, you’ll mail us your gun(s) with all expenses paid by us. When we receive your gun(s), we get you paid with a check in your hand within a few days.
When you use Cash My Guns, you get the following unbeatable benefits!
Easy shipment tracking throughout the whole process. Speedy payment!
Begin our safe and discrete process here.
The information contained on this website has been prepared as a service to the internet community and is not intended to constitute legal advice. CashMyGuns.com has used reasonable efforts in collecting, preparing, and providing quality information and material, but does not warrant or guarantee the accuracy, completeness, adequacy, or currency of the information contained in or linked to this website. Users of information from this website or links do so at their own risk and should consult their local firearm law resources and/or an attorney when engaging in selling a firearm. The cited information in this article was obtained on 03/18/20 from https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cbi/firearmsfaqs