How to Sell a Gun in Connecticut: A Comprehensive Guide
How to Sell a Gun in Connecticut: A Comprehensive Guide
Selling a gun in Connecticut requires knowledge of the State’s laws to ensure gun owners are in compliance and don’t make any mistakes. The State of Connecticut has numerous laws concerning the ownership, transfer, and the carrying of firearms. If considering selling a gun to another individual, make sure you’re up to speed with the laws that regulate transfers to ensure you’re in compliance and not breaking any laws.
What Selling Options do Gun Owners Have in Connecticut?
There are a few ways gun owners can sell a firearm in a legal transaction:
- Gun owners can sell their firearm to a local dealer. This is a good way to help ensure gun owners are complying with gun laws in Connecticut for firearm sales. However, sellers may be leaving money on the table by selling for much less than the gun’s actual market value.
- Gun owners can sell a firearm through a private transaction, however, selling through a private transaction can be complicated. All Private Party Sales/Purchases Require a Permit. Buyers can only purchase a handgun in Connecticut, if in addition to being a resident, the buyer has a valid Permit to carry Pistols or Revolvers, a valid Eligibility Certificate and you are a licensed Firearms Dealer or if you are a Sworn Police Officer. A DPS-67-C and a DPS-3-C (4 copies) must be completed.The seller of a handgun must contact the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit at (860) 685-8400, or (888) 335-8438 and obtain an authorization number for that sale and the number is to be added to both forms. The DPS-67-C is to be retained by the seller for 20 years and the seller should retain the original copy of the DPS-3 for their records, give one copy to the purchaser as a receipt. Sellers need to submit one copy to the local police authority where the purchaser resides and submit a final copy to the Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection.Current law states that no person may purchase or receive any long gun unless such person holds a valid long gun eligibility certificate, a valid permit to carry a pistol or revolver issued pursuant to subsection 9 (b) of section 29-28, a valid permit to sell at retail a pistol or revolver issued, or a valid eligibility certificate for a pistol or revolver issued.No such sale, delivery or other transfer of any long gun shall be made until the person, firm or corporation making such sale, delivery or transfer has ensured that such application has been completed properly and has obtained an authorization number from the Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection for such sale, delivery or transfer.
This sale authorization number can be obtained by calling (860) 685-8400 or by calling Toll Free (888) 335-8438. In addition to the above, the seller may not sell to anyone under 18 years of age, or to anyone the seller knows is prohibited from possessing firearms.
- Another option if simply wanting to legally dispose of a firearm is surrendering it to local law enforcement. However, by doing this, gun owners potentially lose on hundreds or even thousands of dollars those guns could be worth in a sale.
What is the Process of Buying a Firearm from a Dealer in Connecticut?
Anyone purchasing a firearm from a licensed firearms dealer must complete a Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco & Firearms form 4473. A firearms purchaser must, under the permanent provisions of the Federal Brady Law, also undergo a National Instant Criminal Background Check System check, which will be performed by the licensed firearms dealer.
The check will indicate to the dealer whether the purchaser’s background allows for the person to complete the purchase of the firearm. If the check disallows the sale for no warranted reason, there is an appeal process the purchaser can pursue to receive the necessary clearance to complete the purchase.
What Are the Restrictions on Assault Weapons in Connecticut?
Law enforcement and military personnel may possess Assault Weapons in connection with their official duties, and any person who has a Certificate of Possession issued by the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit may possess the Assault Weapon listed on their certificate.
Sworn members may purchase Assault Weapons in connection with their official duties, but must obtain a letter from the Commissioner, or authority authorizing the purchase stating that the sworn member, officer, inspector or constable will use the assault weapon in the discharge of officials duties and that a records check indicates that the sworn member, inspector, officer or constable has not been convicted of a crime of family violence.
Connecticut Firearm Ownership Prohibitors
In Connecticut there are also certain conditions that prevent you from owning a firearm.
- No person convicted for a Felony or a Misdemeanor crime of domestic violence involving the use or threatened use of physical force or a deadly weapon may possess any firearms in Connecticut.
- No person may obtain a Pistol Permit, Eligibility Certificate, or possess a handgun if they are less than 21 years of age, subject to a Protective or Restraining Order, or if they have been convicted of a felony, or convicted in Connecticut for any of the following misdemeanors after October 1, 1994.
- Illegal possession of narcotics or other controlled substances – 21a-279(c)
- Criminally negligent homicide – 53a-58
- Assault in the third degree – 53a-61
- Assault of a victim 60 or older in the third degree – 53a-61a
- Threatening – 53a-62
- Reckless endangerment in the first degree – 53a-63
- Unlawful restraint in the second degree – 53a-96
- Riot in the first degree – 53a-175
- Riot in the second degree – 53a-176
- Inciting to riot – 53a-178
- Stalking in the second degree – 53a-181d
FEDERAL DISQUALIFICATION CATEGORIES
- Conviction (felony or misdemeanor) where the crime has a maximum imprisonment term exceeding 1 year (even if a buyer did not receive actual imprisonment exceeding 1 year).
- Warrant (felony or out-of-state misdemeanor).
- Felony pre-trial release.
- Misdemeanor crimes of domestic violence restraining/stalking/protection order mental health adjudication or commitment.
- Unlawful use or addicted to a controlled substance (including marijuana).
- Dishonorable discharge from the armed forces.
- Renounced U.S. citizenship.
- Illegal alien.
Save the Hassle, Sell your Gun to Dunlap Gun Buyers
If the hassle of navigating Connecticut’s gun laws seems overwhelming, we’re excited to tell you that there’s a better way!
You can safely, easily and legally sell your handgun or long gun to Dunlap Gun Buyers and be 100% compliant with Connecticut gun laws.
We have a Federal Firearms Licensee, who is licensed by the U.S. Government to help people with selling and transferring of firearms. We take care of the hard part and make the process safe, quick and hassle-free. The reality is, you can sell your gun without leaving the house.
Just tell us which gun(s) you’d like to sell, we’ll make you an offer, and once we agree on a price, you’ll mail us your gun(s) with all expenses paid by us. When we receive your gun(s), we get you paid with a check in your hand within a few days.
When you use Dunlap Gun Buyers, you get the following unbeatable benefits!
Easy shipment tracking throughout the whole process. Speedy payment!
Begin our safe and discrete process here.
The information contained on this website has been prepared as a service to the internet community and is not intended to constitute legal advice. CashMyGuns.com has used reasonable efforts in collecting, preparing, and providing quality information and material, but does not warrant or guarantee the accuracy, completeness, adequacy, or currency of the information contained in or linked to this website. Users of information from this website or links do so at their own risk and should consult their local firearm law resources and/or an attorney when engaging in selling a firearm. The cited information in this article was obtained on 09/06/23 at jud.ct.gov/lawlib/law/firearms.htm, atf.gov/firearms/docs/guide/connecticut-firearms-statutes-and-codes/download