How to Sell a Gun in South Carolina?
Selling a firearm can be a complicated process in general, which is why it is recommenced that those looking to sell in South Carolina be informed of state and federal regulations surrounding firearms. Though the state of South Carolina has some restrictions surrounding firearms sales, laws are relatively lenient when compared to some other more strict states. However, buyers and sellers must adhere to regulations in place when selling a gun to ensure laws are not broken during the transaction. To help inform South Carolinians, CashMyGuns has put together a helpful guide to navigate some of the regulations in place.
The following information was compiled from the official South Carolina State Legislature website.
What are the Requirements to Legally Purchase a Firearm in South Carolina?
In order to purchase a firearm legally through a Federal Firearms Licensed dealer, the buyer must be 18 years old to purchase rifles, shotguns and ammunition. Buyers looking to purchase handguns must be at least 21 years old. No permits or registration are required to own a firearm in this state.
Anyone purchasing a firearm from a licensed firearms dealer must complete a Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco & Firearms form 4473 (firearms transaction form). This form will be maintained by the dealer. A firearms purchaser must, under the permanent provisions of the Federal Brady Law, also undergo a National Instant Criminal Background Check System check, which will be performed by the firearms dealer.
This check will indicate to the dealer whether the purchaser’s background allows for the person to complete the purchase of the firearm. If the check disallows the sale for no warranted reason, there is an appeal process the purchaser can pursue to receive the necessary clearance to complete the purchase.
How to Legally Conduct a Private Party Gun Sale in South Carolina?
South Carolina does not have specific laws or public policies that require a background check when the seller is not a licensed dealer.
It is unlawful for a person to knowingly sell, offer to sell, deliver, lease, rent, barter, exchange, or transport for sale into this State any handgun to:
- A person who has been convicted of a crime of violence in any court of the United States, a fugitive from justice, a habitual drunkard, a drug addict or someone who has been adjudicated mentally incompetent.
- A person who is a member of a subversive organization
- A person under the age of 18
- A person who by order of a circuit judge or county court judge of this State has been adjudged unfit to carry or possess a firearm
It is unlawful for any person described above to possess or acquire handguns within South Carolina.
South Carolina Firearm Ownership Restrictions
FEDERAL DISQUALIFICATION CATEGORIES
- Conviction (felony or misdemeanor) where the crime has a maximum imprisonment term exceeding 1 year (even if a buyer did not receive actual imprisonment exceeding 1 year).
- Warrant (felony or out-of-state misdemeanor).
- Felony pre-trial release.
- Misdemeanor crimes of domestic violence restraining/stalking/protection order mental health adjudication or commitment.
- Unlawful use or addicted to a controlled substance (including marijuana).
- Dishonorable discharge from the armed forces.
- Renounced U.S. citizenship.
- Illegal alien.
Other Restrictions on Firearms in South Carolina
Out of state: a resident of South Carolina who can legally purchase and receive delivery of a rifle or shotgun in this state may purchase a rifle or shotgun in another state and transport or receive it in this state. The sale must meet the lawful requirements of each state, meet all lawful requirements of any federal statute, and is made by a licensed importer, licensed manufacturer, licensed dealer, or licensed collector.
In state: a resident of any state may purchase rifles and shotguns in South Carolina if the resident conforms to applicable provisions of statutes and regulations of this state, the United States, and of the state in which the person resides.
It is unlawful for a person to sell, rent or give away a machine gun, military firearm, sawed-off shotgun or sawed-off rifle.
South Carolina prohibits people from possessing, storing or keeping a machine gun, military firearm, sawed-off shotgun or sawed-off rifle.
Save the Hassle, Sell your Gun to CashMyGun.com
If the hassle of navigating South Carolina’s gun laws seems overwhelming, we’re excited to tell you that there’s a better way!
You can safely, easily and legally sell your handgun or long gun to CashMyGuns.com and be 100% compliant with South Carolina’s gun laws.
We have a Federal Firearms Licensee, who is licensed by the U.S. Government to help people with selling and transferring of firearms. We take care of the hard part and make the process safe, quick and hassle-free. The reality is you can sell your gun without leaving the house.
Just tell us which gun(s) you’d like to sell, we’ll make you an offer, and once we agree on a price, you’ll mail us your gun(s) with all expenses paid by us. When we receive your gun(s), we get you paid with a check in your hand within a few days.
When you use Cash My Guns, you get the following unbeatable benefits!
Fair price for your gun
Easy shipment tracking throughout the whole process
Begin our safe, discrete and legal process here.
The information contained on this website has been prepared as a service to the internet community and is not intended to constitute legal advice. CashMyGuns.com has used reasonable efforts in collecting, preparing, and providing quality information and material, but does not warrant or guarantee the accuracy, completeness, adequacy, or currency of the information contained in or linked to this website. Users of information from this website or links do so at their own risk and should consult their local firearm law resources and/or an attorney when engaging in selling a firearm. The cited information in this article was obtained on 3/11/2021 at scstatehouse.gov/code/t23c031.php