How to Sell a Gun in Virginia: A Comprehensive Guide
How to Sell a Gun in Virginia: A Comprehensive Guide
Firearm regulations vary from state to state and can be complicated to navigate. The state of Virginia has various regulations and a lengthy process to purchase a firearm. With that in mind, buyers and sellers alike may want to be informed of the process and regulations when it comes to buying, selling and transferring a firearm whether it is a private transaction or a purchase from a federally licensed dealer.
The following information is compiled from the official Virginia State Police website, the Virginia Legislative Information System and a memorandum on State Laws and Published Ordinances in Virginia from the Virginia Office of the Attorney General to the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms.
What Selling Options do Gun Owners Have in Virginia?
There are a few ways gun owners can sell a firearm in a legal transaction:
- Gun owners can sell a firearm to a local dealer. This is a good way to help ensure gun owners are complying with gun laws in Virginia for firearm sales. However, sellers may be leaving money on the table by selling for much less than the gun’s actual market value.
- Gun owners can sell a firearm through a private transaction. In the state of Virginia, no person can sell a firearm in exchange for money, goods, services, or any other value unless they have verified that a criminal history record information check has been conducted on the prospective purchaser. This verification must confirm that the purchaser is not prohibited by state or federal law from possessing a firearm, as determined by the Department of State Police. Licensed dealers in firearms will facilitate this verification process and may charge an additional fee of up to $15 for conducting the criminal history record check on behalf of a seller. The State Police provide background checks for private transactions at firearms/gun shows in Virginia for the sale or transfer of handguns or long guns at the event. For a private transaction background check, both the buyer and seller must be Virginia residents. The prospective purchaser must provide written consent permitting the State Police to perform the records check by completion of a Virginia Firearms Transaction Consent Form.
- Another option if simply wanting to legally dispose of a firearm is surrendering it to local law enforcement. However, by doing this, gun owners potentially lose on hundreds or even thousands of dollars those guns could be worth in a sale.
Restrictions on Firearm Ownership Virginia
In order to purchase a firearm legally, the buyer must be 18 years old to purchase rifles, shotguns and ammunition. Buyers looking to purchase handguns must be at least 21 years old.
Virginia Law restricts firearm possession and purchase among specific groups of individuals, particularly those with certain criminal or mental health histories.
It is unlawful for individuals who have been adjudicated legally incompetent, mentally incapacitated, or incapacitated under certain sections of the law to purchase, possess, or transport firearms. Individuals whose competency or capacity has been restored may petition the court to regain their firearm rights.
It is unlawful for individuals who have been involuntarily admitted to a facility or ordered to mandatory outpatient treatment due to various circumstances to purchase, possess, or transport firearms.
It is unlawful for individuals who individuals subject to specific protective orders to purchase, possess, or
Individuals who have been convicted of two misdemeanor offenses related to certain drug offenses within a 36-month period are ineligible to purchase or transport handguns. After five years from the date of the second conviction and no further convictions during that period, this ineligibility is removed.
FEDERAL DISQUALIFICATION CATEGORIES
- Conviction (felony or misdemeanor) where the crime has a maximum imprisonment term exceeding 1 year (even if a buyer did not receive actual imprisonment exceeding 1 year).
- Warrant (felony or out-of-state misdemeanor).
- Felony pre-trial release.
- Misdemeanor crimes of domestic violence restraining/stalking/protection order mental health adjudication or commitment.
- Unlawful use or addicted to a controlled substance (including marijuana).
- Dishonorable discharge from the armed forces.
- Renounced U.S. citizenship.
- Illegal alien.
Save the Hassle, Sell your Gun to Dunlap Gun Buyers
If the hassle of navigating Virginia’s gun laws seems overwhelming, we’re excited to tell you that there’s a better way!
You can safely, easily and legally sell your handgun or long gun to Dunlap Gun Buyers and be 100% compliant with Virginia gun laws.
We have a Federal Firearms Licensee, who is licensed by the U.S. Government to help people with selling and transferring of firearms. We take care of the hard part and make the process safe, quick and hassle-free. The reality is you can sell your gun without leaving the house.
Just tell us which gun(s) you’d like to sell, we’ll make you an offer, and once we agree on a price, you’ll mail us your gun(s) with all expenses paid by us. When we receive your gun(s), we get you paid with a check in your hand within a few days.
When you use Dunlap Gun Buyers, you get the following unbeatable benefits!
Easy shipment tracking throughout the whole process. Speedy payment!
Begin our safe and discrete process here.
The information contained on this website has been prepared as a service to the internet community and is not intended to constitute legal advice. CashMyGuns.com has used reasonable efforts in collecting, preparing, and providing quality information and material, but does not warrant or guarantee the accuracy, completeness, adequacy, or currency of the information contained in or linked to this website. Users of information from this website or links do so at their own risk and should consult their local firearm law resources and/or an attorney when engaging in selling a firearm. The cited information in this article was obtained on 09/15/23 from https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-308.2:2/, https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter42/section54.1-4201.2/ and atf.gov/firearms/docs/guide/virginia-firearms-statutes-and-codes/download